Not everything happens right away

So while I was MIA fighting Ninja Zombies, things have been progressing. I have another title coming out this summer (July release is what we’re aiming for) with NBP called ‘Knocking Down Heaven’s Door.’ It’s a quirky little coming of age story and parts of it are near and dear to my heart. It also combines classic rock, religion, and a girl becoming aware of herself, so there’s pretty much something there to offend everyone.

In all seriousness, I like combining plot points that don’t seem combine-able and this story really gave me the opportunity to do that in a unique way. When I wrote it I hadn’t been writing for a while and I was driving home from The Dayjob, listening to my fave classic rock station. And the dj of the moment was having a contest on his blog, the rules being that you had to write a story about summer camp and it had to have certain phrases in it.

Sometimes that’s all it takes to make my brain kersplode. I drove home and in two hours had the first draft…and promptly chickened out. Yep, I never sent it in. I sent a draft to my epic friend Siobhan Kinkade to get her thoughts, and she got behind it a hundred percent. But still, I just  couldn’t do it. There was something about the combination of coming-of-age discovery, the smart-talking and cynical  protagonist, the church camp setting, and the uplifting-ish end that…I don’t like to say it scared me, but I have to admit I wasn’t sure what to think about it. I’ve done out-of-character pieces before, but this was completely different from other things I’ve written. The more I read it the more I got nervous about where I went with it – granted you’ll see worse on cable most nights, but still. There are times I definitely second-guess myself. A few drafts and a couple of years later, I found myself staring at this thing thinking ‘Well, why not?’ I always joke about being the girl that’ll write what others won’t think of or touch, so why was I backing down now? I also really hate to have stories that I personally like sitting on my hard drive for years. Yeah, there are a few pieces that I just can’t get to work and will never see the light of day, but I really, really want to make as much work as possible. I’m a total perfectionist in that way – I’ll dig up pieces that I haven’t paid attention to in years and give them a good shine and polish (or CPR in some cases) and send them out, just to see what happens. At the end of the day, I believe in this little story and I wanted other people to believe in it, too.

It still took me two weeks to force myself to start submitting it to places. And like with everything else, you have to find the right place. I got a lot of rejection letters on this one that said something to the effect of ‘we like the style and the basic idea, but well…’ You hear a lot of that, anyway, and it didn’t really take me by surprise.  I’m very pleased to say No Boundaries Press was willing to give it a chance and shares a similar sense of humor. What’s more, I’m glad they could see past the humor and some of the tone to realize that at the end of the day that little story really does have something to say.

Amazing how things work out sometimes, isn’t it?

~ by admin on January 13, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
