Tale as Old as Time

I’ve discovered something horrific. Something not only tragic and sad, but just plain wrong.

Apparently no one in my life loves me enough to sit through Beauty and the Beast in 3D with me.

Ok, ok, I get that it’s not everyone’s cuppa, and in truth I could care less about the 3D aspect. I just plain love the movie and want to re-capture the nostalgia of my youth by seeing it on the big screen again.

Apparently no one else is thrilled to re-live that nostalgia with me. Come on, it’s not like I’m going to cosplay Belle to go see the thing! I thought about it, but that’s just way too much work for sitting in a dark theater…

My friends who usually love all things Disney and cute replied with a shrug and an eye roll and according to my mother my family is no longer obligated to take me to kids’ movies now that I’m past the 3-0 marker. (Though in a massive twist of irony it’s perfectly acceptable for me to go with my mother so she can see the last Harry Potter film. Hrm…pick and choose much?)

I didn’t realize there was a statute of limitations on spending time with your children, but okay…It’s not like I was planning to sing along with every musical number…much…

While yeah, I’m not thrilled with how Disney has handled everything in the company’s lifetime, I will say that Beauty and the Beast was a movie that had a huge impact on me  in my preteen/teen years. I think at some point every girl feels like an outsider and for those of us book geeks Belle was suddenly a character we could actually identify with. Believe me, I still wonder if half the people where I live regard me as the crazy chick with her head in the clouds half the time.

Not only that, but the music is gorgeous, the animation is beautiful and epic, and the story treats its viewers with respect. It was one of the last of that time period to not burden itself with pop culture references, ten million comedic sidekicks, and an outright formula. It’s probably the best princess movie, hands down. I don’t know that it’s necessarily my favorite, but it’s in my top three fave animated Disney movies.

When this thing first came out, I remember just being stupefied there in my seat. The Little Mermaid had blown my ever-loving mind and turned me into an utter Disney fangirl (for a few years, anyway), but Beauty and the Beast sealed it. Every time the commercial came on TV even after I’d seen the movie I’d zoom in so I could watch that long shot of the ballroom unfold. Guh, I remember just being perplexed as to how anyone could get animation to do that and the story worked on so many levels, there’s still very little for me to find fault with.

And now no one wants me to relive happiness, sniff. I mean yeah, I go to plenty of movies by myself, but this is different. This is an experienced to be shared, yo! I need someone beside me so I can grab their arm during the exciting parts and not have them think I’m a complete lunatic! I want to share the joy and lightheartedness!

I also don’t want to be that weird creepy lady that goes by herself to see an animated movie and starts bawling her eyes out in the theatre at the glory that is that animation. Ahem…not that I would EVER do that…I’m just saying I don’t want to be that person. Or something. Maybe I just need to hold a raffle and draw a name out of a hat and that person is obligated to go with me…they just don’t know it in advance.

Hrm…maybe it’s time to resort to blackmail…especially if I can sucker them into buying me popcorn, to boot.

~ by admin on January 19, 2012.

One Response to “Tale as Old as Time”

  1. Shame we’re not close enough to easily hang out, I want to see it, too. Until Lilo & Stitch, it was my favorite Disney movie.

Leave a Reply

 
