St.Patrick’s Day Blog Hop!

Admittedly I always seem to drop the ball around St. Patrick’s Day. I remember it right up to a couple days beforehand and then like clockwork it totally slips my mind until the actual day. I try so hard – I love doing little things for holidays and I have no qualm about wearing green (though admittedly I don’t own much of it). While I don’t love crowds I don’t mind hanging out at the local pub with my best friends.

I do love Irish folk stories though. Whether it be fairies or selkies or leprechauns I feel like there’s a wild element in those tales that’s absolutely perfect. Those creatures aren’t safe, they aren’t anything a person can control, yet they’re attractive even though they’re dangerous. I have to admit that I find the writings of Yeats and others terribly romantic and glorious – even if they’re also terrifying. Stories of changlings and otherworldly bargains, of going to another land and finding a hundred years have passed when you try to get back – Irish fairy tales and ghost stories gloriously portray the helplessness of the human condition and set it against the temptations we’re all drawn in by. As I’ve said before these fairies and creatures are the real deal – attractive and vicious, they’re pretty much sparkly death and I’ve read their stories obsessively through the years.

So now I apparently just have to work at wearing green, too!

So how about you? How do you celebrate St. Paddy’s? Do you have any fun memories of the holiday as a kid? What’s your favorite part of Irish culture?

And of course -the giveaway! For my contest all you have to do is leave a comment. I’ll randomly draw a name and they’ll receive a PDF copy of my first release The Inheritance! Be sure to leave your email so I know where to send it!

But that’s not all…

Be sure to comment on as many blogs in the hop as you can – because each comment will get you an entry for the two grand prizes:

Grand Prize 1: Winner’s Choice of a Kindle Fire or Nook Tablet

Grand Prize 2: Winner’s Choice of a $90 Amazon or Barnes&Noble Gift Card

 

Pretty sweet eh? So be sure to CheckΒ Out All the Blogs on the Hop!!Β 

~ by admin on March 16, 2012.

35 Responses to “St.Patrick’s Day Blog Hop!”

  1. I go out with friends for the holiday. Dress in green and have a merry time of it too lol.

    Happy St. Pattys Day!

    ~*Drea*~
    dreabecraft(@)aol.com

  2. Happy St. Patty’s Day!

    ~Sara
    sarbook7237@gmail.com

  3. Love reading about the Irish folklore. Don’t do anything exciting, just cook some corned beef and cabbage and drink some beer (not green)
    Happy St. Patrick’s Day
    Jean
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

  4. No worries, I tend to forget too. However, I don’t generally celebrate much except to wear green. And if I do forget, I take a green pen or something and just draw a shamrock on my hand and wave it around like “so, there!” lol.

    Thanks for the chance to win!

    Hillary
    hillacurr@gmail.com

  5. happy St Patrick’s Day
    i like to read about ireland and folklore so i wear green and read a book

    all the best

    isabelle(dot)frisch(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. I’m not Irish, but I do enjoy and make corned beef and cabbage every year (well several times a year). I do try to wear something green just to avoid the comments.

    Anne
    acm05atjuno.com

  7. Have a happy St. Patrick’s Day – green, rainbows, gold and all!

    carrieannryanwrites(at)gmail.com

  8. We don’t celebrate St. Patric Day in my country, so I don’t have any memories to share. When I see the TV relations from other countries there are many drinking and singing people wearing funny hats. I think for most it’s just an excuse to get drunk. However I like the other symbol of Ireland – clover.
    A four-leaf clover brings luck. I loved looking for them as a child.

    Joan

    0401romance[at]gmail[dot]com

  9. I have a four leaf clover I found as a child, I dont celebrate much now ..I am homebound due to a car accident.

    The blog hops help keep my busy ..and enjoying books πŸ™‚

    Happy St Pattys Day ~

    ~Kym
    flwrs4ever(at)yahoo(dot)com

  10. My fave thing about Irish culture is the Celtic songs!!
    Thanks for the great giveaway!!!
    Happy St. Patrick’s Day!
    red_tigergirl2(at)hotmail(dot)com

  11. I like green, but it doesn’t look particulrly good on me. I have a shamrock pin that I wear and a kickin’ pair of green suede moccasins. I’ll also make some corned beef reuben sandwiches. YUM.

    Erin Go Bragh!

    catherinelee100 at gmail dot com

  12. We will be celebrating by going to my mom’s for corned beef and cabbage.
    Thanks for the chance to win, and Happy St. Patrick’s Day!
    sqwalker2@hotmail.com

  13. Irish tales and legends are very interesting. I’m going to celebrate by being with my family. Thank you for the chance to read one of your books.

    Cambonified[at]yahoo[dot]com

  14. Honestly I don’t do much for St. Patrick’s Day. I remember as a kid there was a lot to do but as an adult, eh. I’m not a beer drinker so I don’t even get to enjoy green beer. But I do like to have fun with friends and that seems to fit!

    Thanks for the giveaway and Happy St. Patrick’s Day!
    bas1chsemail at gmail dot com

  15. No limericks?? Oh well, I’m all limericked out here, especially at one in the morning. Started hopping late because I didn’t realize it was just for one day! And I’m taking part in this hop, lol.

    Anyway, happy St. Pat’s Day πŸ™‚

  16. Thank you for joining the Blog Hop!

    menina.iscrazy @ yahoo.com

  17. I love green!!! I hope you have a great Saint Patty’s Day!!
    viajeradelmar@aol.com

  18. HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY!!!

    I’m making corned beef sandwiches on rye, stewed cabbage and apple/plum chutney to go with it all (yes, slightly unorthodox, but SO yummy)…and wearing GREEN of course! πŸ˜€

    Thank you for your generosity, and for participating in this blog hop! πŸ™‚

    Name: Hira Hasnain
    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com

  19. Thanks for the giveaway!

    dlatany at gmail dot com

  20. I don’t do anything anymore for the day. I wear my green and read a good book. This year I’ll be babysitting the grandkids so the book will have to wait until bedtime.

    proudarmymom32(at)yahoo(dot)com

  21. happpy st pat day and t hen hope you have great dsay

    desi the blonde a t msn dot com

  22. I will probably just wear a green shirt and some holiday socks. That is pretty much the way I celebrate the holiday.
    June
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

  23. Green shirt……..lots of good food with friends and family!

    sionedkla@gmail.com

  24. Wearing green and going oout on a surprise day with my husbnd St.Patricks Day is our anniversary 18 years tomorrow I married my irish love

    flanagan@mebtel.net

  25. I’ll be goung to a bridal shower!

    mmafsmith at gmail dot com

  26. St. Patrick’s Day is a National Holiday at my house. We get ready for the parade at 7 which starts at 10. Then we go to the in laws and eat, eat, eat. Play games with the kiddos and eat some more. Some members exchange gifts. Then it is off to the pub crawl. Fun times for everyone.
    Mel
    bournmelissa AT hotmail DOT com

  27. Thank you so much for participating in this hop!

    Gena Robertson
    robertsongena@hotmail.com

  28. I wear green and I eat Irish Soda Bread. Thanks for the giveaway. Happy St Patrick’s Day.

    gatormaryd(at)yahoo(dot)com

  29. No particular tradition. Just try to wear some green really.
    Thank you for the giveaway.
    Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

    Pam
    vanillaorchids69(at)gmail(dot)com

  30. I love going out with my friends for a drink πŸ™‚

    Morganlafey86(at)aol(dot)com

  31. Happy St. Patrick’s Day & thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  32. I plan on wearing these really cute socks! I love em. Im gonna be putting them on tomorrow! πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing and for the giveaway! Happy St. Patrick’s Day!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  33. We’re spending THIS St. Patrick’s Day planning for our every-four-year trip to Ireland in November! β™₯ Ireland!

    Thanks for being in the hop!
    Amy

    thefishingwidow(at)akmarshall(dot)com

  34. I have no cool stories or memories for the day. I do wear green however. And I love all kinds of folklore so its a pretty cool day.

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  35. I listen to Celtic Music πŸ™‚
    childrensbook13 at aol dot com

Leave a Reply

 
