Alpha Male Blog Hop!

 

Alpha males. They’re the staple of many romance/erotica titles. They’re hot, sexy, and know what they want. Why are they so damn likable? Shouldn’t that attitude be considered chauvinistic, or at least frustrating?

While I’ll admit that extreme examples of that attitude may tick me off in real life, I do like alphas in my fiction. I was first introduced by the term when I started reading the Sarah McCarty ‘Promises’ series, and hoo boy…talk about some alpha males that could melt your socks into the pavement!

What I think makes this kind of character work, though, is when authors make them human. It isn’t necessarily a caveman “me big strong man” thing…having Alphas tempered by some sort of sensitivity (at least when their heroine is concerned) is damn sexy. Having someone who will protect you, who obviously likes you enough to chase you and put forth and effort – hell yeah, I can see why they’re popular!

In my erotica title Power Chord, Drake is a rock star who’s used to having his way. He likes being in control, and he doesn’t expect anyone to challenge him. And then, in the middle of a dirty fantasy that’s supposed to be private, suddenly his thoughts (or is that someone else?) challenge him. I liked  playing with the idea of a dominant personality thrown for a loop. Although it’s a quickie, I also think there’s much more to Drake than meets the eye, and he has the potential to become quite an interesting Alpha.

So, contest time! Leave me a comment as to why you like (or don’t like!) to read about alpha males, and you’ll be in the running to win a PDF copy of Power Chord! Then you can read all about Drake and decide for yourself! Be sure to leave your email in the comments!

 

 

Drake has gotten used to having things his way – he makes the decisions whether it be recording his music, on the road while touring, or in bed. He may be somewhat older than when he first started, but he can still pack venues and still has fans at his mercy. But while professional success brings about one type of satisfaction, there’s a certain type he just can’t seem to reach one dull night after a show. He doesn’t party hard anymore – he knows better – but that doesn’t mean he can’t indulge in a dirty fantasy all his own. What would it be like to have ultimate power, to be able to shed the confines of his body and sneak up on the unsuspecting by way of astral travel? What would it be like to seduce a woman when she can’t see him, can only feel him when he wants her to? And what happens when he’s not the only one who appreciates good music and is turned on by the power of control?

 Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Power-Chord-ebook/dp/B007ZRZ31C/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1350446622&sr=8-1&keywords=zillah+anderson

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/power-chord-zillah-anderson/1110590123?ean=2940014503457

ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-powerchord-788355-140.html

Now, be sure to hit as many places in this hop as possible – each comment is worth an entry for the e-reader, gift card, and swag pack!
The full list is also at http://carrieannbloghops.blogspot.com
21.
40.
65.
122.
124.
135.
148.
150.
189.
206.
208.
210.
227.
230.

 

~ by admin on October 19, 2012.

31 Responses to “Alpha Male Blog Hop!”

  1. I love reading about Alpha males, but usually not as the main characters of the story because I think it’s more interesting to see a less powerful personality’s struggles.

    Rachel oceanrebel333 @ gmail.com

  2. I like to read about Alpha males, but enjoy reading about different types to keep spice in my reading 🙂

    Thanks for the hoppin fun !

    ~Kym
    flwrs4ever(at)yahoo(dot)com

  3. I like reading about alpha males, they bring such a dynamic aspect to the book.
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

  4. It amazes me the different types of alphas that authors give us. We romance readers are never bored.

    Michelle Bledsoe
    koonie2888 at yahoo dot com

  5. I love reading about alphas who are protective and have a “take charge” attitude 🙂

    Thanks for participating in the hop!

    dmr8888 at yahoo dot com

  6. I like reading about alpha males specially when they meet their alpha females. The battle of wills is so fascinating.
    bituin76 AT hotmail DOT com

  7. I love the fact there are so many types of alpha’s the ones I usually read are in paranormal or highlanders but I love rockers too though I haven’t read too many books with them in it.

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

  8. I don’t think I can ever get sick of reading about alphas. They are great when it comes to leading and loving.
    Cambonified{at}yahoo{dot}com

  9. I hate a–hole know it all alphas that don’t have a brain!

    rfg dot wwe at gmail dot com

  10. I love the possessiveness with a dose of tenderness.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  11. I definitely enjoy alpha males in fiction. The protectiveness and take-charge attitude are wonderful. In real life, I sometimes find alphas a bit overbearing.

    Jyl22075 at gmail.com

  12. Why I love Alpha Males is no real surprise! The perfect Alpha Male for me could be a Vampire, a Scottish Laird, an English Rogue/Gentleman, a Werewolf or Shape-shifter, or a Knight. He’s the rogue who thinks he can’t be reformed into a gentleman. He’s the rough and scarred Scottish laird that has a heart of gold. He’s the werewolf or shape-shifter that needs to heal an aching heart because it took him years to find his true mate. He’s the vampire who has waited decades for that special someone’s blood to sing to him and wake him up. And he’s the knight who can defeat the enemy with a quick swing of his sword, but can’t see the love in front of his face. My Alpha Male has eyes that can see into your soul and are as blue as the sea, or as black as a storm. He’s tall and brooding. His heart can enfold you into its grasp and make you fall in love when he gives it to you freely and completely. He is protective and passionate. In the end he is the one that makes your heart jump and butterflies fly in your stomach, and still kiss you until your legs melt!

    Angelheart618@gmail.com

  13. I love an alpha male for his confidence!
    sqwalker2@gmail.com

  14. Alpha males are protective, passionate and strong. I love to read about them.

    Kit3247(at)aol(dot)com

  15. I love reading about alpha males. Alpha males, to me, are compassionate, loyal, honest, determined, strong, and have something in their past that made them into the men they are today. phaedracamille@gmail.com

  16. I love how brave, strong, possessive, protective, and capable they are 🙂
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!
    cassandrahicks1989@yahoo.com

  17. Like smart and sexy alpha males
    r.d1@myfairpoint.net

  18. Thank you for the wonderful post and the giveaway! Alpha Males are my absolute favorites! They’re strong, confident, protective, sometimes a bit bossy, and of course sexy!

    verusbognar (at) gmail (dot) com

  19. Love alpha males, thanks for the hop.

  20. Great hop!

    Thanks for the chance!

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  21. I like alphas and their protectiveness.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  22. I love that Alpha Males are as fun to read about as they are to write about! My favorite quality in an Alpha Male is confidence. I like to read stories that have them because they keep the pace intense.

    j.lennidorner AT facebook DOT com

  23. Alpha males are the best….strong, independent, fiercely protective, but on the inside they are nothing but a big ol’ teddy bear! I love the way their mouths talk filthy, but their eyes portray their sensitive sweet. They can be rough and tough in the bedroom, but still have the gentle caress of an attentive and protective lover. It’s all in the heart…..alpha males are the best!

    Jack Gordon from Liz Crowe’s REALTOR series rocks!

    Thanks for participating in the hop!

    molly at reviewsbymolly dot com

  24. I like reading about alphas because they are brave, protective & loyal. Thanks for giveaway
    kaylyndavis1986@yahoo.com

  25. I love Alpha males who are strong and protecitve!
    What a great blog hop Alpha males are my favorite!
    One of my favorite Alpha males is Decebal from The Grey Wolves Series by Quinn Loftis!
    Thank you for the great giveaway!
    Latisha D
    tishajean@ charter.net

  26. I love Alpha Males because they are strong, protective, take charge and dominate! yummy!!
    Thanks for joining the hop!!
    Ashley A
    ash_app@hotmail.com

  27. I like my alphas confident, intelligent and extremely protective of what they consider theirs. There are so many personality types to alphas~ I love to find new ones. 🙂 Thank you for being part of the hop!

    MostlyMisha[at]gmail[dot]com

  28. I love my Alpha Males. They keep me coming back for more.
    I Love that they are strong, loyal, confident, and how protective they are of their woman even when they KNOW she can kick some major ass.
    My favorite “Alpha Male” is Smitty from Shelly Laurenston’s The Beast In Him”. He is a real laid back kind of alpha male until you threaten someone he cares about. Then all bets are off and that BEAST comes out to kick ass.
    Thanks for being part of the hop and for the chance to win.
    reneebennett35(at)yahoo(dot)com

  29. I like that an alpha is strong, confident, & protective, yet he also has a tender side for the one he loves

    Wolphcall(at)bellsouth(dot)net

  30. I love alpha heros. So hot! 🙂 I love how dominant, possessive, loyal and protective they are. Thank you for the awesome hop and giveaway! This is so much fun!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  31. I like alphas in my reading and television because it is fantasy. It is nice to imagine someone sweeping you off of your feet and being your protector and never having to worry. In reality, it would just make me mad. I like having my own opinions and doing what I want when I want. Just my opinion though. 🙂
    Thanks so much for being part of the hop!
    Marlena
    charmedpoms(at)yahoo(dot)com

Leave a Reply

 
